Sigma Nu Brothers Honored by North-American Interfraternity Conference


Sigma Nu brothers gathered for the 2014 North-American Interfraternity Conference Gold Medal Banquet. Image courtesy of the Fraternal Composite Service.

Sigma Nu is pleased to announce that several brothers were awarded North-American Interfraternity Conference’s (NIC) Awards of Distinction during the most recent annual meeting held in Indianapolis, Ind. Two brothers, Wells Ellenberg (Georgia) and Dr. Michael McRee (Kansas State) were both presented with individual Awards of Distinction and the Epsilon Mu Chapter at Butler University was presented with the Chapter of Distinction Award.

Wells Ellenberg (Georgia) was among only seven collegiate fraternity men to earn the Undergraduate Award of Distinction. Brother Ellenberg, a 2013 graduate of the University of Georgia, is a past Collegiate Grand Councilman and is Sigma Nu’s 2013 Man of the Year. Ellenberg served the Mu Chapter as Commander, LEAD Chairman, and Recruitment Chairman. “I am the man that I am today and the leader that I am today thanks in large part because of my fraternal experience and this award goes out to all those who made that experience possible,” Ellenberg said at the event.

Dr. Michael McRee (Kansas State) was presented with the Alumni Award of Distinction alongside two other winners. Dr. McRee has served as the associate executive director for the Delta Upsilon Educational Foundation since 2012 where he has managed daily operations. From 2007-2010 McRee served as Foundation Ambassador for the Sigma Nu Educational Foundation and is a past facilitator for educational sessions held at Grand Chapter.


Michael McRee (on right) with immediate Past Chairman of the NIC Allen Groves. Image courtesy of Fraternal Composite Service

“I know that to achieve anything of significance in this industry and others, it’s those partnerships that are important that sustain us throughout all of those difficult times,” said McRee, reflecting on his experience working with fraternities and sororities.

The Epsilon Mu Chapter at Butler University was presented with the Chapter of Distinction Award along with four other fraternity chapters. The Epsilon Mu Chapter, chartered in 1926, has initiated 1,494 brothers and has won three consecutive Rock Chapter awards (2008, 2010, and 2012).

Representing the Epsilon Mu Chapter at the banquet was immediate past Commander and current Collegiate Grand Councilman Joey Thomas. “Our chapter is constantly striving to challenge the status quo and to pursue excellence in all areas,” Thomas says of the chapter. “I’m excited for what the future may hold.”

The North-American Interfraternity Conference was founded in 1909 and is the trade association representing 75 international and national men’s fraternities. The NIC serves to advocate the needs of its member fraternities through enrichment of the fraternity experience, advancement and growth of the fraternity community, and enhancement of the educational mission of the host institutions.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: